49ers Red Zone Defense Provides Shock & Awe To Michael Vick & The Eagles. San Francisco – 24 Philadelphia – 23

Posted: October 6, 2011 in ABC Sports, CBS Sports, Comcast Sports BayArea, Espn, Facebook, Football, Fox Sports, Google, National Football League, NBC Sports, San Francisco 49ers, Twitter, Yahoo Sports, Youtube

What’s up sports fans? I owe my readers an apology I should’ve posted this sooner. I’m still excited about it today as I was last Sunday. Can you believe San Francisco has the No. 1 ranking for red zone defense in the NFL. It proved positive on Sunday, because the Niners had the perennial quarterback in the NFL to deal with, and he is Michael Vick. With his play last season Michael Vick has silenced doubters and has almost quieted critics. I say almost because there are some who still haven’t forgiven him for the dog fighting incident that made national media and almost ruined his career from playing football on the nations biggest stage for football the NFL. What was also interesting is that Michael Vick and the Eagles haven’t been able to use their success from last year to propel their game this year to new heights.

It’s mainly because their record this year before this game was 1-2. Part of the reason is that Philadelphia has been giving up to0 many points in games. So they thought they could beef up their defense, and they did during special teams by blocking a 49ers punt. The good thing is that Philly didn’t score on that punt. For the Eagles their problem is they were playing against the best defense inside the red zone in the NFL. That team believe it or not is your Bay Area San Francisco 49ers. The Niners have kept the last three teams before the Eagles game  from scoring  at a low 28.57 percent of the time, which is extremely stingy. They now own the right to say they have the best defense inside the red zone. Even when they lost against the Cowboys, Dallas had to do it in overtime. Dallas won the game but psychologically the Niners wore them down. Since that game Dallas hasn’t played well. So going into this game versus what the league has been calling Philadelphia ” The Dream Team” it would make you think that Philadelphia and Michael Vick would prevail eventually, it just a matter of how they would win.

But once the game started it was looking a lot like the game against Cincinnati. Which made you think well, okay, it’s anybody’s game, until Michael Vick started shredding San francisco’s defense. By half time the Eagles were ahead 20-3. Vick finished the game with 416 yards in the air. He also ran for 75 yards. So the question is how did San Francisco win the game? Can you say turnover? The Niners capitalized on turnovers in the second half and allowed them key scoring opportunities. Philadelphia fumbled the ball on the one yard line in the second quarter on a Ronnie Brown running play. The play was nullified when Parys Haralson rushed in unblocked and stop Ronnie Brown and forcing a fumble which the 49ers recovered. What was interesting is that the Eagles had what was seemingly the end of the game before that fumble, after that San Francisco came back clicking on all cylinders. The fumble didn’t hurt Philly but it sparked the Niners. By the second half Philadelphia had their hands full. They couldn’t stop Alex Smith.

He finished the game with probably his best game of his career with a 21 of 33 291 yards and 2 touchdowns output. The Eagles couldn’t stop Frank Gore. He finished with 127 yards and that was on a sore ankle. They couldn’t stop the combined receiving of Michael Crabbtree , Vernon Davis, and Delanie Walker. Crabbtree finished with 5 catches for 68 yards, Davis finished with 4 catches for 45 yards, and Delanie Walker finished with 4 catches for 20 yards. Combined it adds up to 133 total receiving yards where the Eagles couldn’t contain Alex Smith’s air attack. What made matters worse for Philadelphia is that they fumbled again. It was a forced fumble by Justin Smith on Jeremy Macklin. This fumble was significant because of the timing of the fumble. It was late in the fourth quarter and during the time of a surging rally by the 49ers. Smith’s 291 yard day was mostly capped in the second half with 201 yards, touchdowns to Josh Morgan and Vernon Davis.

“For us, since I’ve been here,” said Smith, who is in his seventh season, “playing on the road has been a big test for us. And to get two wins on the East Coast, coming from being down here, it’s a big win.” Was the game huge for San Francisco yes! Without a doubt and the Niners caused the sports writing world to re-write their thoughts on this season. If you’ll remember in my blog about the preseason I stated that the teams to watch out for are going to be the teams that haven’t won in a while. One of those teams I mentioned is the Detroit Lions. Some of you laughed. Guess what Detroit is unbeaten. That’s right 4-0. The Niners were one of the other teams. San Francisco is top of the NFC West right now, but I’ll let Michael Vick explain it in more detail,  “We’ve got to dig deep,” Vick said. “It’s right there for everybody to see what is taking place, how it’s been done, what hasn’t been done and what needs to be done.” Vick is correct it’s a long season and right now for San Francisco and their rookie head coach Jim Harbaugh they can savor the moment.

“It’s a great character builder for a young team,” Harbaugh added. “To really know and trust and believe that they can and will do well (and) believe that they are good enough to do well – that’s big. That’s the way we wanted them to play, and that’s the way they played.” San Francisco has Tampa Bay next week think they can keep their winning ways alive? Leave me a comment. Tell me what you think. Remember folks it’s ALLBAYAREASPORTS.COM. Bay Area sports magnified!

Comments
  1. fairly stimulating. Nonetheless, I beg your pardon, because I do not give credence to your whole plan, all be it radical none the less. It looks to me that your opinions are generally not completely justified and in actuality you are generally yourself not really fully certain of your assertion. In any event I did appreciate reading it.

    • rewing13 says:

      Good day Susan,

      I await your rebuttal. I find you fascinating and would like to hear from you more. You must be an Eagles fan and if so I welcome you and what you have to say.

  2. Couldn’t be addressed any better. Glancing this post reminds me of my ex room mate! He always kept speaking about this. I will address this webpage to him. Pretty sure he will have a nice read. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Galen Todman says:

    I need to say, youve got 1 of the ideal blogs Ive seen in a lengthy time. What I wouldnt give to have the ability to build a blog thats as fascinating as this. I guess Ill just need to keep reading yours and hope that 1 day I can write on a subject with as considerably information as youve got on this 1!

  4. Thanks, thanks for the awesome posting. I’m having troubles subscribing to your blogs feed. Thought I’d let you know

    • rewing13 says:

      Hello Cinthia.

      At the bottom of my site there’s and e-mail subscription request. You simply type in your e-mail and you will continue to get our posts every time I submit a new article. Thanks for visiting the site.

  5. A person necessarily assist to make seriously posts I would state. This is the first time I frequented your web page and up to now? I surprised with the research you made to make this actual submit incredible. Magnificent job!

  6. I need to say, youve got one with the finest blogs Ive seen in a long time. What I wouldnt give to be able to produce a blog thats as intriguing as this. I guess Ill just have to maintain reading yours and hope that 1 day I can write on a subject with as considerably information as youve got on this one!

  7. Leslee Davaz says:

    Once I initially commented I clicked the -Notify me when new feedback are added- checkbox and now every time a remark is added I get four emails with the same comment. Is there any way you can take away me from that service? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

