Warriors Owners Sign Lakers Famed Jerry West. West Becomes Golden State Warriors Team Advisor, And The Owners Make Contract Of Improvement To Season Ticket Holders.

Posted: May 29, 2011 in Golden State Basketball, NBA Basketball

Golden State Warriors Owner's Joe Lacob & Peter Guber

Golden State Warriors Owner's Joe Lacob & Peter Guber

What’s up sports fans? I didn’t think I’d ever be writing this. The man who kept the Los Angeles Lakers in Championship contention for so many years is going to have a say in the operations of the Golden State Warriors? On Tuesday May 24, 2011 a press conference was held to announce that Jerry West the man who donned gold and purple for the Lakers will be one of the voices of wisdom in the front office of Golden State.   “I would hope that I will have a voice, but I will not make that final decision,” West said Tuesday at his introductory news conference. “I don’t want to be the final decision-maker. I don’t think it’s fair to the people in place. That was my biggest reservation coming here. I didn’t want to come here and feel I would overshadow Larry and Bob.” I’m wondering if what Joe Lacob and Peter Guber are saying about this franchise is true. This is just one of the moves the new owners putting into motion to improve the Golden State Warriors.

Golden State Warriors Advisor Jerry West

Golden State Warriors Advisor Jerry West

The other is that they publicly announced that they have offered a Contract Of Improvement for their season ticket holders. This is a bold move in my opinion. I mean I’ve seen teams get bought, and in some cases relocate to another city, and the new owners have come with great inspirations and expectations and most of the time it doesn’t work out that well. Trust me we Warrior fans know it all too well. We had Cohan for over a decade and look what happen there.  But for Guber and Lacob they’re putting their reputations on the line, and that’s huge. I don’t know about you but I’m thinking for them to publicly come out and announce something like this they must be ready to make this franchise pristine. Because I am a Warriors fan I can say it appears that good times are ahead. Peter Guber and Joe Lacob must be pretty confident also, because I’m sure they know that if they don’t succeed the buying public will be brutal. You can count on them receiving hate mail, bad write ups from the press, just about every stinking comment you can think of like, “Lacob, Guber you promised change and you couldn’t deliver!’

This is the reason why I do believe that they must have a secret weapon. I know I personally wouldn’t make a promise and then wait for the onslaught of people and sports writers to hang me out to dry because I couldn’t produce the change that I promised. Just look at what they are promising to the season ticket holders,

1. The Warriors will make the 2012 playoffs. If they do not, ticket prices will not be increased for the 2012-13 season.

2. The Warriors will send a player to the 2012 All-Star Game. If they do not, all season-ticket holders will receive an autographed piece of All-Star merchandise, and be entered into a drawing for an all-expenses paid trip for two to the All-Star Game in Orlando.

3. The Warriors will win 25 or more home games. If they do not, all season-ticket holders will be invited to an exclusive two-hour autograph session at Oracle Arena with the entire team.

4. The Warriors will honor a risk-free renewal, with a 5% interest guarantee option for the 2011-12 season. That policy will be guaranteed with a 25% deposit payment.

I have to admit after looking at these promises I want to be a season ticket holder. Do you think they’ll produce or fail? Tell me what you think. Remember folks it’s ALLBAYAREASPORTS.COM Bay Area Sports Magnified!

Leave a Reply

