Lakers Loose! Lakers Loose! Lakers Loose!

Posted: May 15, 2011 in NBA Basketball

What’s up sports fans? I really don’t know how to say it, I mean the two time defending NBA Champion Los Angeles Lakers swept in the second round by, I still can’t believe I’m writing this the Dallas Mavericks? I guess when you see something coming it’s usually apparent by your subjects performance. I watched game one of the match up between the Dallas Mavericks and the Los Angeles Lakers and to me the Lakers weren’t putting up much of a fight on defense. I mean you had situations where Dirk Nowitski is just taking these shots and the Lakers didn’t have an answer. What made things more astonishing is that during the series Phil Jackson is reaming Lamar Odom on the sideline and he’s not reaming anyone else. I can see that maybe he’s a little frustrated with the play of Lamar in the quarter,  but you had Derek Fisher that wasn’t playing any defense, Pau Gasol not getting any rebounds, Ron Artest taking errant three point shots, it just wasn’t Laker basketball out there.

 

Lakers Can't Figure Out The Mavericks As Their 2011 Season Ends.

Lakers Can't Figure Out The Mavericks As Their 2011 Season Ends.

I still want to know why the Lakers signed Jeff Blake? His performance was pitiful. C’mon, we got guys on the Golden State Warriors squad who can play better than him. I guess all in all you couldn’t degrade them that bad. They were the two time defending champion and if they had to go down the second round is probably where it’s going to happen. “There were flags, I guess, all season long,” Shaw said. “Laker teams that have won championships in the past lose a game, they get mad, they come back and do something about it the next game. This team went through streaks where we lost three in a row, four in a row, even five in a row toward the end of the season. To me, we just never really had the get-back that other teams of this magnitude have had. That part of it was always perplexing. We kind of always had a really cool, laid-back attitude. In the meantime, other teams were gunning for us and they were building their teams to beat our team. And maybe that came back to haunt us a little bit.”

I think what’s bothering me is they got swept. It’s one thing to loose a series it’s another to get swept. And this is why as much respect I have for Kobe Bryant as a player, and I know you Laker fans will argue this until you stop breathing air, but I can’t except the idea that Kobe is as good or better than Michael Jordan. Don’t get me wrong Kobe has five titles, but he doesn’t have what Michael had. Michael Jordan could come in and take over a series and it didn’t matter who he was playing against. Then you have to look at who Michael played against versus who Kobe played against. Kobe never played against Magic Johnson, Larry Bird, Kevin McHale, Robert Parrish, Patrick Ewing, Charles Barkley, Dominque Wilkins, Hakeem Olajuwon, Isaiah Thomas and the list goes on. I will say this about Kobe, he is Kobe Bryant and he has made his own brand of basketball and really that’s all that required of him. I’m not a Laker fan, I’m a Golden State Warriors fan, and I am a basketball enthusiasts that used to play and coach so I can appreciate the game at all aspects and it is my favorite sport.

Even not being a Laker fan after watching this franchise decade after decade, I have to admit it was hard watching the Lakers get swept. I could’ve excepted to watch them loose like Boston did, but to watch them get swept that wasn’t easy to do. As much as I don’t like the Lakers I didn’t like watching them get swept.  What made things worse was in the final game Lamar Odom and Andrew Bynum’s flagrant fouls. To me they just didn’t care about the Laker franchise at all. This a franchise that has built a reputation of good solid showtime basketball and did it with class. They didn’t care about that. Once they saw the game and the series slipping out of their hands they went out like rogues. If you were a Laker fan and were in those seats it must’ve been embarrassing to watch. Now with Phil Jackson out the Lakers fronts office is looking for answer to his replacement. There is talk that top assistant Brian Shaw may take the helm.  “I would relish that opportunity,” Shaw said. “I know right now they have to take a deep breath and kind of process our roster. I think that there are some other things that take precedence over that decision. I’m not going to consume myself with whether that happens or not, right now.”

But as I said it once back in February and I’ll say it again there is a changing of the guard coming to the NBA. Just look at this years playoffs. The team I picked San Antonio Spurs gone in the first round. Boston Celtics found out there dreams of capturing another title burnt to a cinder because it’s hot in Miami. Los Angeles Laker got broomed by a hot shooting Dirk Nowitski out of Texas. The teams to watch in the upcoming seasons are and that is if too much trading doesn’t occur Oklahoma City, Dallas, Portland, Los Angeles and I know you thinking Lakers but belive it or not I give the nod to the Clippers, yes the Clippers. Also Chicago, Miami of course, New York, Golden State, I know it hard to believe but these teams are on the rise and it’s only a matter of time before they are going to find their way in the NBA. Disagree? Give me you side of the story. Tell me what you think. Remember folks it’s ALLBAYAREASPORTS.COM. Bay Area Sports Magnified!

Leave a Reply

