Keep Bay Area Prospects In the Bay Area

Posted: February 8, 2011 in Special Interest Opinion

What’s up bay area sports fans? Well I think it’s pretty clear that the 2011 SuperBowl XLV contested battle had to go to Aaron Rodgers. He closed all speculation and at the end of the day left what he needed to do on the field. Well, hey folks I was just saying a couple of days ago in my posted blog, that if the Pittsburgh Steelers go into this game a little to relaxed they might have problems, because Aaron Rodgers is hungry. I’m not trying to take anything away from Hines Ward, but that statement he made during the press conference, ” Well we’ve been here before. We know what to do.”

Hey, at the end of the day I’m sure Mr. Ward wants to go over film of Green Bay and look at it a little closer. Where was the defensive player of the year, Troy Polamalu? He was invisible, with the exception of a few tackles I didn’t really feel the Polamalu effect if you know what I mean. Yesterday’s 31-25 win of the Steelers was a wake up call to Bay Area sports teams if I never see it again. Hey, S.F. 49ers, Oakland Raiders, S.F. Giants, Oakland A’s, San Jose Sharks, Golden State Warriors, I hope your listening, start recruiting in your own back yard for a change! Aaron Rodgers, a California Golden Bear, wanted to play for San Francisco, Instead we get Alex Smith. Golden State could’ve put some effort in acquiring Steve Nash. I know he’s from Canada, but he played at Santa Clara University.

Oh, and let me not forget our San Mateo native who ended up an east coast guy Tom Brady, who gave the New England Patriots 3 SuperBowl titles. Just how much of a bad taste does that leave in your mouth? I know watching Aaron Rodgers in just 5 seasons get his first SuperBowl taste horrible, ugh! The Raiders or the 9ers couldn’t get Tom Brady. The 9ers just simply passed on Aaron Rodgers. I know the 49ers better do something quick because their argument for a new stadium isn’t going to fly if they don’t start picking up some good talent, like the talent we have in the bay area. The last time we recruited in our own back yard was back in the 70’s. Golden State picked up this guy from Redwood City, CA. goes by the name of Charles Johnson, the original C.J.

What’s Interesting is the Warriors put together their only NBA title with the Bay Area native. What is even more special is that C.J. lived right around the corner from me. I saw his trophy case when I was 9 years old, and I speak to his sister Michelle every now and then. Golden State is trying to make up for it by signing Jeremy Lin who is  a Palo Alto native . He was recently brought back up from the D-League. I think Bay Area teams should get the message. You have talent right here in the Bay Area. All you have to do is look for it. Remember folks it’s ALLBAYAREASPORTS.COM. Bay Area Sports Magnified!

Leave a Reply

